Dubai Will Host A Day-Night Test Match For The FIRST Time And Fans Are Ecstatic


Cricket is coming to the city very soon.

The Pakistan Cricket Board announced that Dubai International Cricket Stadium will host the first ever day-night Test in the UAE, with Pakistan and West Indies set to face-off in a pink ball match from 13 October. How exciting is that?? The first was hosted by Australia against New Zealand last year. Sadly, with this format, there’s no calling in sick now.

Pakistan will take on West Indies…

The world’s number one test team will take on West Indies with the pink ball. The play, tea and dinner timings for the Test haven’t been announced yet.

The tour includes…

Three T20 Internationals, three One-Day Internationals and three Test matches which begin on 23 September.

The high point…

Pakistan will host West Indies in a Test series for the first time in ten years. The last time was when Brian Lara signed off his significant Test career in Karachi.

Also, it’s a form of preparation for Pakistan before their Australia tour in December.

Six first-class day-night matches have been played in UAE…

The remaining six of the 12 matches played in Asia have been in Pakistan (three), India (two) and Bangladesh (one).

Matches with the pink ball and under floodlights are pretty challenging…

Pink balls deteriorate more slowly than white balls, but have better night visibility making them the most suitable for day-night Test cricket. However, the abrasive nature of the grounds in Asia make it difficult. Players have stated the lack of grass on the pitch in Abu Dhabi along with lights and visibility issues make it tough.

The schedule: Pakistan vs West Indies, 2016 


23 September: First T20 International – Dubai 

24 September: Second T20 International – Dubai 

27 September: Third T20 International – Abu Dhabi


30 September: First One Day International D/N – Sharjah

02 October: Second One Day International D/N – Sharjah

05 October: Third One Day International D/N – Abu Dhabi


13 to 17 October: First Test match D/N – Dubai

21 to 25 October: Second Test match – Abu Dhabi

30 October to 3 November: Third Test match – Sharjah


See more

More like this